Starting blog with my Japanese dictionary app

Honestly, I’ve been learning Japanese for few years now but it was a mess. When self studying you don’t know where to start, what material to use. Actually, I printed out study material written by another Lithuanian who also learnt Japanese and wrote a blog teaching Japanese to other Lithuanians. That’s how i learnt katakana (still having a hard time), hiragana, some grammar and first kanji. Embassy of Japan in Lithuania was a good help, they have a few language books that you can borrow. There are various books about Japan but not so many for language studies.
I tried learning online but I’m such person who prefers to read from a paper, I find computer screen tiring, especially for longer time. I would rather buy books or print papers and then I could work on them for hours.

I have to admit that my serious studying began one year ago when I started a big notebook which still turned out into a mess of me searching for my way of studying until after a year I found it. Now I plan to start a new notebook which would be more neatly and organised.

My language skills aren’t that good either. I haven’t focused much on learning grammar so it’s worse than listening, speaking or reading, but how can I speak or write of I don’t know grammar? I can feel the lack of grammar in my sentence structure.

However, I should say I’m proud of myself for being able to learn ~160 kanji in a year and improve my reading. But it’s a different post.

 

I downloaded the WWWJDIC for Android which has various selections. When you open it, it looks like this
Image

You can chose from a variety of dictionaries
ImageImageImageImageImage

Different search types
ImageImage

And two modes
Image

These are the ones I use most in whole app.

WWWJDIC has a handwriting recognition option.
Image When you draw character, it will show your stroke order. Draw and click HKR, it will display 20 candidates for your kanji.
ImageClick the one you need and you can find all information about it.
Image

Though I prefer using Kanji Draw. The icon is always in top bar and ready to use. Now I draw the same kanji.
ImageClick done and it shows 7 exact matches. I like it because you can look up even more inexact matches, with +/- stroke and you can add multiple kanji
ImageImage
and copy paste it to the dictionary app.
Find a translation
Image
Or sample sentences.
Image

Here how one sample sentence looks like.
ImageI really like it how every word is translated and there’s a hiragana to every kanji. That way you can find how to read it and it helps in learning.

I used to borrow paper Kanji Learner’s Dictionary from Embassy of Japan and it helped search for kanji and with it I learnt the stroke orders and how to search kanji by them but now that I have these apps, I no longer pick up the dictionary and can return it for all.

Leave a Reply

