Chinese numbers are 很难

Wednesday..my glorious day for language studies.

I love it when in Chinese classes we do exercises by ourselves. Teacher writes them by hand for us.
20141001_185546

So why Chinese numbers are very hard, as title says.
Some samples of how to read the ones I had in exercise:
256 – two hundred fifty six
407 – four hundred zero seven
8319 – eight thousand three hundred nineteen
2040 – two thousand zero forty
23004 – twenty thousand(sounds like two ten thousand) three thousand zero(when there are more than one 0 only one is pronounced) four
17963 – (in Chinese it’s one ten thousand) seven thousand nine hundred sixty three

You just read the digits one by one and when I first heard it it sounded so messed up that I can’t write down everything now but I’m getting better at it. I still have to think when I see 0 in the middle.

P.S. had made some changes in settings, used to be almantina.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

