An update

I spent biggest part of the month studying four of my target languages: Korean, Japanese, German and Chinese. For the remaining days I still can work on improving others.

Finally I spent more time learning Korean: with TTMIK lessons and pdf book file. In this month I did a fair share of studying with both digital and paper resources.

Learning Korean sentence fillers.
Learning Korean sentence fillers.

After German level test I started two courses on Deutsche Welle. One has exercises with grammar explanation and the other is audio course helping me train my listening skills and learn more vocabulary.

20150416_185545

Various Japanese lessons: both memrise and using Read Real Japanese.

Studying with Read Real Japanese.
Studying with Read Real Japanese.

And another method using twitter. Not only I follow there some language-teaching accounts (among the rest of my interest mess) but also Japanese people accounts and armed with my dictionary app read their conversations…for the sake of learning the language. I hope I will be forgiven. I noticed the usage of various polite expressions in conversations for using in the morning, afternoon, evening, day, week, weekend et caetera, and decided to learn them as well.

We have only two lessons with 4 texts left in Chinese textbook. Next week we’re losing another one or maybe both lessons but semester will end in no time, May will start soon.

3 thoughts on “An update

  1. Can I ask you a question? I have been following you for a while I am really intrigued by your combining several languages! At what level were you somewhere with your first Asian language (was it Japanese?) when you started your second and third Asian language? I’m curious to know if it’s really necessary to have some proficiency in Korean before I start with Japanese :p

    1. Thanks for the question.
      There’s no need to reach a certain level of Korean to start Japanese, you can start learning any time. Same with any language: they are learnt separately despite having similarities with other languages. Knowing other language can be helpful, however. If you were learning Korean for a while and start Japanese you might notice that some words sound so similar in both languages and you can memorise them quickly: newspaper, doctor, photograph et caetera.
      Some think of learning Chinese along with Korean because of Hanja. I still don’t understand the importance of Hanja but if I will need Chinese characters at some point I’m glad I’m learning them 😀

Leave a Reply

