Days #3,4&5; Week 1

Something to keep me off posting for two days, but not today I hope.

Searching for Icelandic grammar online was a pain, but yesterday I picked up a physical copy, published by one of our universities.

20150924_185131

It’s less than 200 pages, but looks really professional.

Most important to me – pronunciation guide ^^
20150924_185209

This makes the most sense and makes hardest letters easy.
This makes the most sense and makes hardest letters easy.

English samples here tells all. But this pronunciation looks difficult in one word I came across – alþyða (people).

I found that there’s derivation and it saves lifes. For example, words with same prefix that has similar meanings:

  • aðal- aðalatriði (main question), aðalatvinna (main work), aðalbraut (main road).
  • and- andmæli (protest, disagreement), andof (opposition), andspyrna (resistance).
  • auð- auðfundinn (easy to find), auðgerður (easy), auðkenna (to distinguish), auðkennilegur (easily(distinguishable)).

There are other types of derivation, but I haven’t got to them yet. This reminds me of learning character radicals in order to learn more Chinese/Japanese characters. Language hacks are always welcome~!

Today I started a basic Icelandic course on memrise, and looked around for future languages.

Icelandic is pretty. I think I found a part where are all exclusively Icelandic letters present.
Icelandic is pretty. I think I found a part where are all exclusively Icelandic letters present.
Leave a Reply

